Kossuth County Racing Hall of Fame to Induct Seven during Fair

The Swea City Oil #88 sits in the background with (left to right) Terry Smith, Gene Schattschneider, Del Lieurance and Gene Fagerlund shown in front. Lieurance and Fagerlund will be inducted into the Kossuth County Racing Hall of Fame August 5th. (Photo: Terry Smith collection)

The Kossuth County Racing Hall of Fame will be honoring its 2017 class of inductees during the Kossuth County Fair.

The annual induction ceremony will take place during this year’s Kossuth County Fair races, held Saturday, August 5th at the Kossuth County Ag & Motorsports Museum, located on the fairgrounds in Algona.

The 2017 inductees into the Kossuth County Racing Hall of Fame include drivers Bryan Mortensen, Larry Nerdig and Dave Nutt. Car owners and builders Gene Fagerlund and Del Lieurance of Swea City Oil will be honored as will KLGA/KLGZ radio.

There will be an inductee reception at the museum at 4:00 p.m. with the ceremony taking place at 4:30 p.m.

Inductees will also be introduced at that night pit meeting and in front of the grandstand during the races.

This event will also serve as a reunion for both past and current inductees. The inductees in the Kossuth County Racing Hall of Fame, their families, and friends are invited to attend the night’s racing activities at the Kossuth County Speedway.

More information about the ceremony can be found online at www.kossuthmuseum.com.





Speak Your Mind