Racing Hall of Fame

The Kossuth County Racing Hall of Fame, established in 2007, seeks to recognize individuals, living or deceased, who distinguished themselves with a record of success or contribution to the betterment of racing in Kossuth County. Honorees must have lived in or raced in Kossuth County, Iowa.

The annual selection of honorees for induction as Kossuth County Racing Hall of Fame Members begins with the submission of the Nomination Application Form. Anyone is welcome to submit completed applications for consideration.

Deadline for applications is November 15th each year. Completed applications should be submitted to:

Chad Meyer
PO Box 276
Whittemore, IA 50598

DOWNLOAD:Kossuth County Racing Hall of Fame – APPLICATION 2014(PDF)

In 2007, eight individuals were honored as the first hall of fame class, represented on the ‘Wall of Fame’, located on the Kossuth County Fairgrounds in Algona, Iowa. The first class included: Daryl Brayton, Leo Christensen, Dwight Cook, Jim Edgington, Leonard Pesicka Sr., Gene Schattschneider, Lamont Wellendorf, Les Wildin.

Eight more inductees were recognized during the 150th Kossuth County Fair in 2008. They included; B&D Automotive (Bob Arend and Daryl Arend), Bobby Grim, Honsbruch Drug, Butch Householder, Dennis Hovinga, Stacy Redmond, Dick & Dorthy Simpson, Don Smith – Media

Inductees recognized in 2009 included; Larry Cook, Don “Shiney” Hilbert, Wayne Meyer, Orie “Bud” Petersen, Don Prilipp, Richard Simpson, Jim & Helen Utt, Bob Weber.

2010 inductess were; Ron Barton, Arnie Braland, Darreld Bunkofske, Phil Diamond, Don Doocy, Dick Forbrook, Wayne Funk, and Steve Krapp.

Those enshrined in the 2011 class were; Emory Collins, Marv DeWall, Bud Fair, Don Hiscocks, Stan Riedel, and Buzz Rose.

The 2012 class included: Wayne Arndorfer & Don Hurn, Elmer Cook, Bobby Geldner, Roger Hendrickson, Roy Jo Peltz, and Bob Shryock.

For more information regarding the Kossuth County Racing Hall of Fame in Algona, contact any committee member or contact Rick Klein, ( Algona, or Chad Meyer ( Whittemore.