Haugland, Hejna, Wolf, Ubben are Kossuth County Racing Hall of Fame Inductees

By Chad Meyer


The Kossuth County Racing Hall of Fame, located in Algona, IA, will induct four individuals in its 2023 class of inductees.

Drivers Dan Haugland, Mike Hejna, and Ed Wolf will be inducted along with Ken Ubben, a former flagman at the Algona and Britt tracks.

Dan Haugland

Dan Haugland from Crystal Lake, IA amassed 42 wins at the Algona track, tying him for seventh all-time here. Haugland amassed 56 total wins in his career and was the 2006 and 2007 track champion and earned the 1999, and 2006 Kossuth County Fair Race wins. Haugland also scored the 2007 Schattschneider Memorial at his home track.

Clear Lake’s Mike Hejna earned 10 wins at Algona and was the 1997 track champion. He also was the winner of the 1992 and 1994 fair races and captured the Algona 1997 Fall Finale win. Hejna won multiple USMTS tour events.

Wolf after winning the Night of 1000 Stars at the Hancock County Speedway.

Algona’s Ed Wolf continues to leave a legacy at the Kossuth County Speedway. He won several feature events at his local track, including the 1997 Schattschneider Memorial and a run of three out of four July 4th races. Wolf also had significant success at the Hancock County Speedway, in Britt, IA, winning the 1996 Night of 1000 Stars for IMCA Stock Cars and won the 1997 season championship race there. In addition to helping his son Austin have a successful racing career, Wolf has been instrumental in guiding many area racers.

Flagman Ken Ubben

Ken Ubben from Buffalo Center, served as either assistant flagman or flagman for then track promoter Daryl Brayton at the Algona track through Joe Ringsdorf’s first year as promoter. Ubben started at the Hancock County Speedway when it opened in 1995 and was the assistant flagman and flagman at the Britt track during the 10-year promotional tenure of Dan and Sandy Danielson.

The Kossuth County Racing Hall of Fame committee, with the help of the living members of the Kossuth Racing Hall of Fame, selected the inductees for 2023.

The induction ceremony will take place during the Kossuth County Fair races on Thursday, August 3rd.

More details and a list of past inductees is available at www.KossuthMuseum.com.

Speak Your Mind