Erpelding, Gray, Kubly, Schrader & Weydert Are Kossuth County Racing Hall of Fame 2020 Inductees

The late Gus Schrader, who headlined IMCA “Big Car” action at the Kossuth County Fair in the 1930’s-40’s, and four others will be inducted into the Kossuth County Racing Hall of Fame in Algona. Photo from National Sprint Car Hall of Fame.

The Kossuth County Racing Hall of Fame, located in Algona, IA, has announced its 2020 class of inductees. This year’s class features five individuals that made a significant impact on the sport of racing.

Mason City’s Craig Gray was a top IMCA Stock Car driver at Algona during the ‘90’s, collecting at least 28 victories, tying him for 15th all-time here in total wins. Gray also won two track championships at Algona in addition to the 1998 Kossuth County Fair and an amazing four Fall Nationals events plus the 2002 Schattschneider Memorial.

Algona’s Dave Erpelding earned at least 16 victories at his home track in his career. He also collected the 2000 Schattschneider Memorial plus two point titles here.

The late Gus Schrader, from Newhall, IA has often been referred to as the greatest dirt track driver of his generation. The six-time IMCA Sprint Car National Champion deservedly received top billing when he competed at the Kossuth County Fair in 1930-40’s. He held the track speed record here until it was surpassed by Frank Luptow in 1951.

Jerry Weydert from West Bend is a former crew member and mechanic on the famed “8 Ball” car driven by fellow Kossuth County Racing Hall of Fame inductee Leo Christensen.

LuVerne’s John Kubly is a long-time supporter of local racing and “Kubly Farms” has adorned the sides of many successful racers in the area. Cars sponsored by Kubly have earned countless feature wins and track championships here and at other speedways in the region.

The committee, with the help of the living members of the Kossuth Racing Hall of Fame, selected the inductees for 2020.

The induction ceremony is planned to take place during the Kossuth County Fair, Saturday, August 8th.

More details about the Hall of Fame and the induction ceremony will be released when they are available to

Speak Your Mind