Kossuth County Racing Hall of Fame to Induct Seven During Fair

2018 Kossuth Co. Racing Hall of Fame inductee, Greg Hilbert, stands next to his familiar red #14. Hilbert family photo.

The Kossuth County Racing Hall of Fame will be honoring its 2018 class of inductees during the Kossuth County Fair.

The annual induction ceremony will take place during this year’s Kossuth County Fair races, held Saturday, August 4th at the Kossuth County Ag & Motorsports Museum, located on the fairgrounds in Algona.

The 2018 inductees into the Kossuth County Racing Hall of Fame include four drivers. 1960’s era modified driver, the late Vic Dicks, will be inducted as will Algona’s Greg Hilbert. Among Hilbert’s accomplishments, he was a Kossuth County Fair Race champion multiple times and won the first Gene Schattschneider Memorial race at Algona. Hilbert joins his father Don “Shiney” Hilbert as an inductee.

Mark Noble won at least 23 times at Algona during his long career, including the Fall Nationals and earning the 1992 track championship. The late Bruce Sommerfeld, who was the 1973 track champion in Algona, completes the drivers inducted this year.

Long-time promoters Dan & Sandy Danielsen will be 2018 inductees, as are car owners of the German Valley Special, Wendal Schutjer, Gary Zwiefel and Erwin Smith. Kossuth County Racing Hall of Fame and Museum volunteer and board member, the late Dennis Garbers will also be honored.

There will be an inductee reception at the museum at 4:00 p.m., with the ceremony taking place at 4:30 p.m.

Inductees will also be introduced in front of the grandstand during the races.

This event will also serve as a reunion for both past and current inductees. The inductees in the Kossuth County Racing Hall of Fame, their families, and friends are invited to attend the night’s racing activities at the Kossuth County Speedway.

More information about the ceremony can be found online at www.kossuthmuseum.com.





Speak Your Mind