Kossuth County Racing Hall of Fame Announces 2019 Class

Kevin Berte’s modified sits ready to head to the track. Berte joins five others as 2019 Kossuth County Racing Hall of Fame inductees. Photo from Bob Arend collection.

The Kossuth County Racing Hall of Fame recently announced its 2019 class of inductees. This year’s class features six individuals that achieved great success in the sport.

Drivers Kevin Berte, Ron Pope and the late Del Stokke join Jerry Pingel, Edgar Meyer and Larry Lappe as 2019 inductees.

Whittemore’s Kevin Berte sits seventh all-time in wins at Algona with 41 career wins and four track championships. Ron Pope of Mason City posted 32 feature wins in his career at Algona along with a pair of track championships. Both Berte and Pope hold IMCA Supernationals championships. The late Del Stokke from Ames rounds out our inductee class of drivers, earning six feature wins, and the 1970 fair race.

Jerry Pingel of West Des Moines, is a former crew member and mechanic on the Jim & Helen Utt sprint car, which achieved great success across the Midwest.

For many years Larry Lappe has performed track preparation duties at various northern Iowa speedways. He will be recognized for his long-standing dedication to the Kossuth County Speedway and others.

While he is known today as a key race track preparation volunteer at the Algona track, Edgar Meyer has supported local racing for nearly a lifetime. For several years he co-owned winning IMCA modifieds piloted by Bob Weber and the Meyer Farms sponsored B-Mods and IMCA Northern SportMods driven by Jake Simpson.

The committee, with the help of the living members of the Kossuth Racing Hall of Fame, selected the inductees for 2019. Candidates not chosen will be considered for future inductions.

The induction ceremony will take place during the Kossuth County Fair, Saturday, August 3rd.

More details about the Hall of Fame and the induction ceremony will be released when they are available to www.KossuthMuseum.com.

Speak Your Mind