Kossuth County Racing Hall of Fame to Induct Six During Fair

2019 Kossuth Co. Racing Hall of Fame inductee, Kevin Berte, stands in victory lane after one of his many wins at Algona. (Photo – Berte collection)

Kevin Berte, Larry Lappe, Edgar Meyer, Jerry Pingel, Ron Pope, Del Stokke to be inducted August 3, 2019. 

The Kossuth County Racing Hall of Fame will be honoring its 2019 class of inductees during the Kossuth County Fair.

The annual induction ceremony will take place during this year’s Kossuth County Fair races, held Saturday, August 3rd at the Kossuth County Ag & Motorsports Museum, located on the fairgrounds in Algona.

The 2019 inductees into the Kossuth County Racing Hall of Fame include three drivers.

1960’s era driver, the late Del Stokke, who was the 1970 Kossuth County Fair race champion will be inducted as will Whittemore’s Kevin Berte. Among Berte’s accomplishments, he was a Kossuth County Fair Race champion twice and collected four track championships in six years. He also won the Gene Schattschneider Memorial race at Algona two times and owns 41 wins at Algona, seventh all-time here.

Jerry Pingel with driver Larry Kirkpatrick. Pingel collection

Ron Pope, the 1993 IMCA Modified National champion, earned 32 wins at Algona in his career, plus two track championships. Pope also won three consecutive Schattschneider Memorial races, two Kossuth County Fair races and the 1992 NCAR Nationals at Algona.

Jerry Pingel began helping Jim Utt on his #30 sprint cars in 1971 as a mechanic, and continued spinning wrenches through 1977. With Pingel building and maintaining the engines the team collected wins across the country and at home. Their highest point finish in IMCA national points was third in 1974 with Ralph Blackett as their main driver.

Edgar Meyer, back row, right, stands in victory lane at Fairmont Raceway with the Meyer Farms #12 driven by Bob Weber. Weber collection

For 50 years, Edgar Meyer has been a big supporter of local racing. Owning cars with Bob Weber produced multiple wins in the Jackson Nationals and the Fall Futurity at Webster City, among many others. He has been a sponsor for much of Jake Simpson’s career, of which he has five Algona track championships, multiple fair wins and 46 wins at Algona. Today, Meyer volunteers much of his time for track preparation at the Algona track.

Larry Lappe will be honored for his many years of track preparation at Algona and several other area race tracks.

There will be an inductee reception at the museum at 4:00 p.m., with the ceremony taking place at 4:30 p.m.

Inductees will also be introduced in front of the grandstand during the races.

This event will also serve as a reunion for both past and current inductees. The inductees in the Kossuth County Racing Hall of Fame, their families, and friends are invited to attend the night’s racing activities at the Kossuth County Speedway.

More information about the ceremony can be found online at www.kossuthmuseum.com.

Speak Your Mind